Magical Listicle Tour 3 – Breakfast

IMG_1782

The third of these short guides to places in Prague is about the most important meal of the day – breakfast. While researching this topic through conversations with locals, I have discovered that small and sweet breakfasts tend to be the order of the day for Czechs. This explains the many bakeries in the city. If I were to take a wild stab in the dark at the reasons for this, I would guess that it may have something to do with the fact that under Communism there wasn’t a lot of cane sugar and coffee. Instead, there were substitutes for both. After the Velvet Revolution liberated the country, everyone had a sugar rush and developed a sweet tooth.

It’s not a perfect explanation, but it’ll do for the purposes of this article.

IMG_1230

Christmas Breakfast in Scotland, prepared by my dad

Personally, I prefer bigger breakfasts with a lot of meat, some fruit, and a bit of variety. For this reason full Scottish breakfasts, like full English but bigger and with added haggis and square sausage, are my favourite. I am also partial to American style breakfasts as they tend to have a good mix of sweet things and meat. I decided to try out a few places in Prague, both sweet and savoury.

Donuter Donuts (Prague 3, Zizkov, near Husinecka tram stop)

 

For starters, a sweet breakfast.  Located at the lower end of Zizkov going along the main tram route, this one is hard to miss. If you’re ever hankering for a donut, they are open daily from 8am till 10pm. As necessary for a donut shop, they have coffee.

A good call if you’re looking for something pleasant to start the day.

Mikro Farma (Prague 3, Vinohrady, Namesti Jiriho z Podebrad)

 

Now, this is what I’m talking about! Mikro Farma is one of my favourite restaurants in Prague. It won its way into my heart with a steak sandwich in my last guide and it delivers on breakfast too!

The place is a deli/farm shop and everything tastes like it has been made specially for you. The homemade bread was perfect. In a country where most bread is brown and fairly tough, at Mikro Farma it is white and soft. My breakfast came with bacon, sausage, tomato, beans and eggs. For some reason, good bacon is hard to come by in the Czech Republic. Mikro Farma delivers.

My fiancée had a breakfast sandwich which was presented in a newspaper wrap. Normally I’d think that a little hipsterish, but because the place is amazing we can forgive them a little showmanship.

Cafe Savoy (Prague 5, Mala Strana, Near Ujezd tram stop)

 

This breakfast was something else entirely. My parents were in town and so my fiancée and I took them here as it seemed other worldly. Here is the ceiling.

IMG_1736

This place is ornate but not so much as to be crass. Instead it belies the simple elegance of the 1920s, when the First Czechoslovakian Republic was booming. This breakfast was magical.

Hardly keeping to my character at all, I stretched out and ordered a French breakfast. Meat, potatoes, and eggs. But that is not all.

IMG_1745

French toast in a sizzling hot pan topped with seasonal fruit.

This place is a bit above the price range of a local salary for an everyday expense, but would be quite fitting for a special occasion. The price is more than made up for in the service, which is efficient, a little courtly, and with a small touch of pageantry to it. Below find other pictures of other breakfasts.


So Prague can definitely do breakfast. Not listed here because I can’t find the pictures but very worthy of a mention is the Las Adelitas (Prague 3, Vinohrady, Lucemburska) Weekend breakfast menu. I had a breakfast burrito there and was delighted. My fiancée had pancakes. I found a picture just now.

IMG_1820

So, thet’s me now written something every day for a week. I have a bunch more ideas so intend to carry on. Let’s make this a month, people!

Leave a Reply

